19th December 2023

Celebrating our People: 2023 Award winners

On the 14th of December, we celebrated our 2023 People Awards and announced the winners for each category.

These awards recognise and celebrate the exceptional work of our amazing people who consistently deliver outstanding contributions to Van Elle and our customers.

The winners were:


Values Award for Safety: Matty Higginson, Lead Driller

Commended for his safety commitment on the A46 Walsgrave project, recognised by the Managing Director of Octavius for raising concerns and proactively seeking additional support.


Values Award for Integrity: Dominic Torr, Senior Technical and Quality Manager

Received for his prompt and rigorous management of technical issues, clear advice, and commitment to maintaining the highest standards.


Values Award for Teamwork: Andrew Downes, HSE Manager

Awarded for his valuable support in health and safety matters, providing positive and effective advice, and actively collaborating with our operational teams.


Values Award for Excellence: Selena Maltby, Payroll Manager

Honoured for her outstanding contributions, solely managing payroll for almost 700 weekly and monthly employees, collaborating proactively, and upholding high standards of excellence.


Rising Star of the Year: Rohit Grewal, Graduate Engineer

Awarded for exceptional performance, demonstrating confidence, articulation, and a willingness to learn.

Operative of the Year: Curtis Thrasher, Assistant Driller

Received for his commitment to safety, meeting client requirements, and showcasing proficiency across various rigs.

Supervisor of the Year: Ian Jones, Site Supervisor

Awarded for outstanding performance, consistently receiving positive client feedback and delivering results under challenging circumstances.

Manager of the Year: Jon McGurk, Operations Manager

Recognised for his outstanding leadership on major projects and commitment to continuous training and improvement.

Employee of the Year: Nathan Spence, Senior Contracts Manager

Honoured for his exceptional contributions to significant projects, displaying a continuous thirst for learning.

Team of the Year: Transport

Recognised for their role in coordinating and transporting our piling equipment nationwide, serving as the backbone of our operational success.